Cookies That Will Capture Your Heart!

There’s something magical about these soft chocolate cocoa cookies. When I made them Saturday, and my husband came home from covering an event, he ate six of them!

So, I made another batch.

When I gave one to our cleaning lady to try, her eyes widened and she clutched her chest. “These remind me of my grandmother’s cookies!” she said. She went on, “My heart is beating so fast! I’m going to cry. I haven’t tasted anything like this since I saw her. It’s exactly how she used to make them!”

“How long ago did you see her?” I asked, and the answer was fourteen years. Her “mamita” is 95 and on life support in Colombia. She called her cookies “negritas.” Clara closed her eyes and swayed, and savored every bite, moaning with pleasure. At the same time, tears glistened on her cheeks. Never has my cooking had such an effect on someone. I imagined a day in the far distant future when I would taste a combination of ingredients, textures, and aromas that evoke a memory of my dear mother and her fabulous cooking. Books and films such as “Like Water for Chocolate” have portrayed the transcendental power of cooking, but I’d never experienced it firsthand. (Though certain smells, like a particular laundry soap, can whisk me back to breezy mountaintops of Nicaragua where sheets line dry beside thatch-roofed huts…)

I packed the whole batch into a tub for Clara to take home, and will share the recipe with her. And I made another batch last night. They’re disappearing. When I described them to my sister in an email, she said they sounded “dangerous.” She’s right; they are dangerously delicious. And so easy to make! Total time including prep and baking is 25 minutes.

1/2 cup butter or 1/2 cup margarine

1 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup cocoa (I used Ghirardelli’s unsweetened)

1 large egg

2/3 cup milk

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla

Some chocolate chips

Directions

1. Cream butter and brown sugar; add egg.

2. Sift dry ingredients and add to butter/sugar mixture alternately with milk.

3. Add vanilla.

4. Stir in chocolate chips.

5. Drop by spoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheet. (I treat with a fine mist of Spectrum Organic coconut oil spray.)

6. Bake 8-12 minutes at 400°F; do not overbake.

7. Ice with chocolate icing, if desired. I sprinkle vanilla sugar on top.

Internet Photo

Photo by mcgex 112908.

My Photo

Image

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in Bliss, Family, Nutrition, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookies That Will Capture Your Heart!

  1. mrsksl says:

    HMMM…wonder if we can adapt for Passover.

Leave a Reply

