Are Facebook, Twitter, and blogs becoming our main mode of communication?

I called my husband once, not too long ago, and he said, “I’m okay.” It was an odd greeting.

He said, “Didn’t you see my tweet?” (No, I hadn’t.) “I was in a car accident.”

He actually expected me to learn that he was in a [thankfully minor] car accident via Twitter!

Now, via my blog, my family might learn that we’re planning to take our daughter to Latin America. I won’t say where yet, because we haven’t bought the tickets, but it’s the only place we can afford to take a week’s vacation on a beach, and have daily maid service and personal chef included, plus masseuse and nanny available for a little extra. All for less than what a few nights at an American hotel would cost.

The beach in the photos looks a little rocky, but all 22 reviews say the food is delicious, the setting serene, and the staff very accommodating.

My additional questions to the dueño, or owner, were: Can we be assured of a smoke-free environment? Does the house have a generator?

The owners are a couple who met in high school and they are bringing a Pack & Play down on their next trip. It seems we’d have everything we need—including WiFi.

So why would this idea be met with resistance from, say, the grandparents? Mostly because it’s unfamiliar territory, and of course, love. Big love. When we get peppered with questions, as I’m sure we will, my answer will be,

“I think they have babies in Latin America.”

The babies wear diapers there, too.

In my view, this is the best time to tote our tot to the rural destination; she’s lightweight enough to carry in a carrier, and still nursing, so most of what she needs is on my person at all times.

With regard to the nanny services provided, well, I’m drawing from experience here. Everywhere I’ve traveled in Latin America (including Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Ecuador, and Peru), I’ve been treated with unparalleled warmth and generosity. Visiting a poor farm in Nicaragua, I left with an armful of vegetables; in Ecuador I was offered the use of the family toothbrush; in Panama I spent the night at our taxi driver’s cousin’s house when it got too late to find lodging. The stories are many and the memories are indelible.

I am sure luck has something to do with my panorama of positive experiences, but I also study the culture and try to be respectful. I usually wear a skirt, and try my best to communicate in Spanish with “please” and “thank you” bookending every utterance.

It’s my heartfelt desire to share my love of Latin America with my husband and new daughter, as well as with you.

We’re also on a shoestring budget.

Have you traveled to a third world country? How did it make you feel to see others with much, much less experiencing joy, love, and good health?

It lets me know that love, health, and happiness can be attained without material comfort. It’s good to reinforce this knowledge because sometimes I forget. It is also important to practice your foreign language, because otherwise it can atrophy. Whenever I return to Latin America, I get a little frustrated before the language wheels get greased and I stutter and struggle to remember phrases I should know.

It’s all about leaving one’s comfort zone. Since my daughter doesn’t even have an established comfort zone yet, I’m hoping international colors, flavors, and smells will become a natural part of her worldview. Why not start early?

Children bathing in a tub. Petén, Guatemala

 

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in motherhood, social networking, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. Lynda says:

    Yvonne took her 2 kids (under 5) and husband to El Salvador for 6 days over New Year’s. Not exactly what I would have thought of as a destination vacation, but she was looking forward to a great time and had been salivating for weeks in anticipation of the wonderful food. I’ll get a full report.
    Lynda

  2. Taylor Petekiewicz says:

    I love this! Your voice in this one sounds a lot like Barbara Kingsolver, who is one of my two favorite authors.

  3. At first I thought you had become a fan of a “mommy blogger” who had a very quirky voice. Now I understand that your are that blogger. Of course Facebook led me here and finally have a few minutes at the computer to follow up the trail of breadcrumbs I had noticed on my mobile version of Facebook enlightened me. I would be happy to share this on Twitter.

  4. oliarights says:

    I love that you spent the night at the taxi driver’s cousin’s house. That is Priceless :) Your trip will be awesome!

Leave a Reply

