Doctor, Mom

Some of you may know that my husband left Wednesday on a week-long news assignment. It’s my first time alone for a long stretch with our 9-month-old baby, and I was freakin’ out before he left, wondering what challenges I’d face.

“You’ll be fine,” everyone reassured me. I welcomed the votes of confidence. I saw hubby off with a smile and a wave.

The day he left, through packing, last minute dry cleaning pick up, tuxedo rental, preparing the cat supplies for two cats, we decided to order Mexican a couple hours before his car service came.

I’d only eaten cereal for breakfast and it wasn’t really what I wanted, but I didn’t want to cook.

The Mexican was a bad idea.

I’ve been sick for three days, in case you were wondering, why so quiet, Mommy Theorist?

Today, I give in. I’m going to see a doctor.

I don’t think the doctor can do much. I think it’s a food-borne illness. No fever. And thank goodness our daughter is showing no signs of the bug I’ve got.

I’ve been napping during her naps, and then having trouble falling asleep. I’m all caught up on “Lie to Me” and looking for more shows to watch, but we’ve been slacking on the DVR. Apple TV will be cool once we’ve worked out all the kinks, like having to sign in every time, and having to download content on the computer before its available on our big screen. There’s also the issue of the monster cable snaking around our family room, when it’s supposed to be wireless, but… Rome wasn’t built in a day!

So, while I’m briefly upright, I’ll say hello, and tell you one more thing that happened while my husband was away.

I brought out the GIANT, U-SHAPED pregnancy pillow my husband referred to as “The Fortress” and had a pretty good night’s sleep once the insomnia passed last night.

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in Journal, motherhood, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doctor, Mom

  1. veronica lee says:

    Hi! Stopping by from MBC. Great blog.
    Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

