Fighting SAD

I’m fighting SAD. I don’t have SAD, but I’ve been feeling lethargy that threatens to slope into the blues. I have the blahs. I’m newly enthusiastic about vitamins and exercise. And since I started taking vitamins again, my energy has been medium, versus low. Normally I’m not content to be sedentary and do nothing.

[Click Here to Do Nothing for 2 Minutes]

But this winter I’ve been taking one, sometimes two naps a day when the baby sleeps. It’s been tough just mustering energy to get groceries. If I had groceries delivered, I’d never see the light of day—and that means my baby daughter hasn’t gotten out much, either.

A fresh coat of snow fell last night. We stand by the window, admiring the winter wonderland. Is this enough exposure to sunlight?

I drove to the city today while we had a babysitter. The Hudson River is just as beautiful in winter as it is in summer. I always think of the Native Americans who once lived here. While driving down the Henry Hudson Parkway, I hallucinate smoking teepees on the Jersey side of the river. In my mind I conjure a whole past tense populated with indigenous people and bears and huskies pulling stock on sleds.

Country music makes me want to run away; miss my exit and drive all day. But there’s no turning off this road that takes me home. I’m glued. I’m pegged. I’m pigeonholed. I’m typecast.

I don’t mind at all, but look forward to a change of scenery…

What are you doing to stay light and lively this winter? Is it a struggle against animal instinct to hibernate?

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in Journal, Parenting, Psychology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fighting SAD

  1. snadius says:

    I embrace hibernation when it turns cold and dark earlier. I degree of gloominess/brooding is natural and I try to take it in stride, remembering the reasons for it. A positive outlook on those “bluer” qualities is that I slow down and think on things, turning inward. I read & cook more in the winter–and clean my house, lol. To each their own, nay? Can never have too many candles lit in the winter.

    • Brilliant idea! I shall light more candles, for real. We don’t have a fire place, so it will be a nice source of warming, flickering, inspiring flame. Thank you for reading and commenting.

  2. Barbara @ Just Another Manic Mommy says:

    I’m in the same weather zone and it’s terrible! I try to get us all out of the house at least once a day, sometimes it’s just to play in the snow. I’ve started taking vitamins which has helped, and, I’m actually looking into one of those SAD energy lights. Hang in there…I hear you!

  3. Pingback: Postpartum Shaman « Mommy Theorist

Leave a Reply

