“I want to eat fugu, but I don’t want to die.”

“Maybe she’s born with it. Maybe it’s all the acid she did in college.”

I have a vivid imagination.

It’s a shame I can’t draw, because I’d love to share the visuals of my rich dream life. Late in life, I realized writing is a visual art, in that it conjures up an image in your mind that was borne in my mind. So it’s like drawing.

Call for artists: I have always wanted to see what an artist would draw when listening to my dreams. I have the recordings of the dreams, and when I’m rich, I’ll commission an artist to do the experiment.

If you can draw, and you’re compelled, please visit my dreams page and send me some inspired art. I’ll post any sketches here that I receive.

Anyway, I shipped husband off to L.A. for Assignment #2 of four. The major difference is after our baby goes to sleep around 8:45, the house is quiet. This is a prime opportunity to finish a creative project. But, finishing is so daunting to me. Why is finishing so daunting? I have a 250-page memoir gathering dust, and instead of dust bunnies, rationales for not finishing it spring up around it and blow around my studio.

Since it’s about my escapades, I think my memoir unfinished since my escapades are ongoing. By this reasoning, it will never get finished. I’d like to adventure into old age. If I learned I had six months to live, I’d go crazy jumping off cliffs, and visiting the Cook Islands, and eating fugu. But almost every day I ask myself,

Why shouldn’t I live as if life is short? Life is short!

If you knew you only had a short time left, what would you do? I know this conjures the overhyped “bucket list,” but who doesn’t think about this sometimes? I think about it all the time. Am I alone in thinking about it all the time? I don’t even think so!

My advice to singles hoping to get married: Marry someone who encourages you to enjoy life, who supports your health and vitality (because you need that to enjoy life), and avoid anyone who would hold you back.

That's me, bungee jumping. Costa Rica, 1997

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in Journal, Marriage, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I want to eat fugu, but I don’t want to die.”

  1. oliarights says:

    I think about it ALL the time! I think its the healthiest exercise. I almost want to do it every morning. Wake up, drink tea and write my eulogy :) I think this would make my days worth living.

  2. snadius says:

    Isn’t it amazing to be in love with someone who encourages those things? Who helps bring them out?

Leave a Reply

