A Home Remedy for Depression

Okay.

Okay.

Okay.

I TOTALLY shouldn’t post this.

I shouldn’t post this picture.

But, I’m inspired by Darlene’s post today, called Don’t Be a Raging Bitch & Other Advice I Give Myself. Here’s a quote:

“Don’t be a raging bitch” is advice I sometimes have to give myself. PMS is the real cause at times (not a great excuse, but it’s a reality nonetheless) but at other times I am just cranky, hungry, tired, stressed out or nervous and need to remind myself not to scream and whine at my husband just because he said hello in the morning before I’ve stumbled out of bed. True story. I’m not proud.”

I’m inspired to go against my own tendencies, actually.

Today was a rough day. Up and at ’em with the brainchild at 6:50AM and off to a 1-hour exercise class outdoors in 86-degree heat that involved running, followed by an outdoor fair where local vendors offer samples. Everyone’s shpritzing themselves and schvitzing. Then try putting a hot baby in a hot car and getting stuck in traffic on I287. I thought for sure our angel would nap. But she didn’t. I had all of 30 minutes to sit down today. The babysitter’s on vacation and the husband is working overtime.

Just yesterday I said to my husband I wasn’t sure whether today would be Wednesday coming up, or Thursday. When I was working in the corporate world, I worshipped my calendar and always knew the day and date. But Stay At Home Mom is comparable to artiste, when it comes to the dazes blending into one another.

“Yeah,” he said. “Being a Stay At Work Dad, I get the same thing.”

He’s brilliant. He’s hardworking. And, on days like these, when I call him crying because the baby is crying and won’t nap, and then he comes home and tells me he’ll work past midnight Thursday night and has to start again Friday at 5:30AM, I feel like a pussy. When I’m barely lifting my arms in a “Stroller Strides” class next to a woman with a double stroller doing double time with resistance bands, I feel like a pussy. When I consider having a second child, on days when one gets the better of me, I feel like a failure, and I “go down,” as Pema Chödrön describes it.

So, I was lying in bed, in the dark, texting with friends, between 7:30PM (when I walked out of the nursery) and 8:30, wallowing.

A friend posted this funny site on his Facebook page, Women Laughing Alone With Salad.

Woman Laughing Alone With Salad

My friend then sent this photo:

Woman Crying With Salad

I said, Come on! Get the fuck out of bed, kick this funk to the fields, and let’s shoot our own funny salad pic! It was the perfect home remedy for depression, and here it is, against my better judgment:

WINNING CAPTION WILL GO HERE

Can you think of a good caption for this photo?

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in Family, Health, Marriage, Parenting, Photography, Psychology, Relationships, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Home Remedy for Depression

  1. Monster alone with Salad.

    p.s. I love this. You inspire me right back.

  2. Lynda says:

    Where’s the beef?

  3. Gene-Manuel says:

    I don’t have a caption but I absolutely L♥VED this entry. ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

