What I Love About Winter

I’m going to be honest. I hate winter. I’m going to be honest again. Gratitude’s all the rage, but sometimes I don’t feel grateful. I may feel frustrated or ignored, which makes me mad, and worried I’ve taken a wrong turn, but I’m not slowing down, I’m charging ahead turning a wrong turn into a marathon in the wrong state, altogether.

And that’s when I’ll write a gratitude list: Ten Things I am Grateful For, which I frankly had never done until I took Erin Stutland’s IntenSati class.

That workshop had us sweating out the day’s (week’s/month’s/lifetime’s) mental “heavy metals” as well as biotoxins through our skin.

Troubles seem to evaporate during this class. It’s powerful. Now, while riding that endorphin swell like a surfer, WRITE!—or plan, or meet with a client, or paint—but don’t just hop on the subway and drift back to the common place immediately; if you can, surf the wave for an hour, like I did today.

I had a great lunch with a client, and also got the idea to blog tonight while riding home:

What I Love About Winter

Since I hate winter, I will do something counterintuitive and write What I Love About Winter.

As you might guess, I take three steps up to the edge of the springboard, and blow the buildup—I stop. Lug-lug-lug-lug. Wobble. You can’t start a swan dive with a sputter.

So, I back up, release my grip on the railing, and take flight.

What I love About Winter

§  Clear, starry nights

§  Geminid Meteor Shower (tonight)

§  Smells of wood burning fireplaces

§  Since the trees are bare, you can see deep into the woods, and deeper into private properties, which I love

§  Green grass or the last blossoming purple flower in our yard, set against a grayscale backdrop

§  People think “summer” signifies “new,” but there is new snow; new friendships; new seasonal activities; new clothes

§  More variety in climate contrasts with west coast range of temps, and may add spice to life?

§  Fantasizing about someplace warm

§  Seat warmers in the car

§  Cozy blankets and pajamas

§  Teaching my daughter about snow

§  Watching the birds migrate

§  Watching the squirrels fatten up

§  Fattening up on rich foods

§  Winter hiking in the woods, especially when the sun is shining, and smowmelt is happening, and the sound of water droplets landing on snow whispers all around you

Wow! I started with only four solid ones in mind, and, as I wrote that list, more of What I Love About Winter occurred to me. Cool!

Be spontaneous.

OMG! Hats! I forgot to mention hats!

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in Bliss, blog, Family, Health, Journal, Nature, New York, Parenting, Photography, Psychology, Relationships, Religion, social networking, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I Love About Winter

  1. Wonderful post!

    I love:

    Holiday lights on homes and trees, and even balconies and trimming apartment windows.
    A hot cup of coffee on a chilly subway ride.
    My down coat that feels like I’m walking around in a comforter.
    That first chill I feel walking outside and leaving the house in the morning, wakes me right up.
    Donating toys.
    Blankets.
    Scarves.
    Hot cocoa.

  2. I love your list! Keep ’em coming!

  3. karen levy says:

    I LOVE enjoying winter vicariously through your eyes!! (From a warm sunny place!)

  4. Olia says:

    I love going some place warm when it’s cold. It makes the warm so much warmer :) And skiing!!! Extra time to stay home and write. The spirit of the Holiday Season. Ho Ho Ho!

  5. Jennifer says:

    I love hot soup, down comforters, scarves, hot tubs, seeing xmas lights, indoor craft projects, playing in the snow and then getting warm afterward inside, ice skating, sledding, snow shoeing— I made it to 10!!!

Leave a Reply

