Carsten Höller: Experience

In a previous post, I wrote about how I’m a novelty seeker. An addict, even.

Since, as a new(ish) parent, I can’t get my adrenaline rush as often as I used to, I’m happy enough striving to laugh every day.

When I heard about Carsten Höller: Experience at the New Museum, I was determined to try Untitled Slide. I say “try” because it’s unlike any other museum exhibit. It’s an interactive installation that spans three floors. As you can see from the photos, you drop down into a hole on the fourth floor, and come shooting out onto a crash pad on the second floor. If you read this and think, “Awesome!” like I did, you should hurry and check it out before it closes on January 22. There’s also Giant Psycho Tank, if you’re into floating naked in saltwater, Upside Down Goggles you can wear to view the world as if it were Opposite Day, and some playful sculpture you absolutely cannot touch. (I found out the hard way.) The Mirror Carousel was fun, too.

We brought our daughter who was delighted by the eye candy, but you have to be 48 inches or taller to experience the slide. We felt like big kids for 30 seconds that day. It’s a 30-second blast that makes your weekend memorable, your smiles last longer, and your spirit a little lighter—an uplift New Yorkers can use in the dead of winter (Sssh! Nobody has to know it’s 59 degrees in January here), with economics, politics, and the Long Count calendar all foretelling doom.

What if the Mayans are right and the end of the world is nigh? May as well have a blast! I’m especially grateful I got to share the fun with my husband and daughter, and our two friends. We followed up the cultural immersion with some badass bloody marys at Saxon + Parole, a place I can’t in good conscience recommend, or the masses will overtake it and it will lose its charm, so, skip it. You don’t really need to build your own bloody mary with ingredients like smoked, pickled okra; you don’t need your buttermilk pancakes garnished with whipped crème fraiche and red wine poached pears; and you’re on a diet — you certainly don’t need warm cinnamon sugar doughnuts to dip in vanilla cream and/or dark chocolate sauce.

Forget I even mentioned it and have a look at the pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in blog, Family, New York, Parenting, Photography, Travel, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

