3 Lessons I’ve Learned from Gardening

1. “Intuition is good; sometimes Internet is better.”

Fourth of July, for the FIRST time, I looked up something about gardening on the Internet—why my broccoli had burst into flowers. It didn’t resemble the broccoli I knew and loved. I learned that, because the soil got too warm, the broccoli “bolted.”

This broccoli has “bolted.”

2. The hardest part of gardening is waiting for the yield.

We’ve been eating a lot of lettuce and herbs, but have yet to enjoy the promising cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, and strawberries. Also, vermin steal every barely ripe tomato and pink strawberry. When I open up the fortress that protects our garden to do some weeding or harvesting, I stuff rocks into animal holes and shake fox urine granules around the perimeter. The granules seem to help, but I haven’t religiously applied after rain, as per instructions.

3. We don’t ALL need to be friends.

After getting schooled on broccoli, I peeked at cucumber info, because the plants are growing outta control! I had no idea they’d proliferate like the Duggar family. My cucumber plant was sending out spiraling tentacles and clinging to its neighbors. That’s when I learned it’s not recommended to plant cucumbers and tomatoes next to each other. Big oops! I’ve trained the cucumbers away from the tomatoes. I think they’ll coexist. But they weren’t meant to get friendly.

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in Home Improvement, Nature, New York, Outdoor, Parenting, Relationships, social networking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3 Lessons I’ve Learned from Gardening

  1. Taylor Petekiewicz says:

    I love gardening, I wish I could do some where I live, but alas. …This blog entry makes me think you might like the book, “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver, if you haven’t read it already.

    • Thanks. I loved The Poisonwood Bible by Kingsolver, so I will pursue this suggestion. It was also suggested on a Facebook page called Give a Shit About Nature. Ha! When you receive a recommendation twice in two days by two different sources, it’s a sign you’re meant to follow through.

Leave a Reply

