What I Love About Winter (Reprise)

Making a list of things I like about winter is like making a gratitude list when I’m in a bad mood; the goal is to turn my frown upside down, and the goal is uphill from where I am.

1. You can see deep into the forest. The trees are bare, so you can see a lot deeper into the forest than in summer. The forest is inviting in winter. However, I learned the hard way I’ll have to wait til temps rise above freezing to take the kids hiking.

2. Soup.

3. Stars on a crystal clear, cold night.

4. Hot chocolate.

Gee, this list is a lot harder to drum up than my first attempt was in 2011.

What do you love about winter? Give me some perspective.

5. Evergreen trees.

6. Suddenly remembering it’s time to visit relatives in Phoenix and Ft. Lauderdale.

What you aren’t able to hear before, during, and after this picture are the kids groaning that they’re too cold and tired to trudge another step. It was about 25F, after all. I just want to get good exercise and use my Deuter Kid Comfort 2 Backpack as much as possible!

603703_10152648235508907_7870898382090676101_n-2

…Is it spring yet?

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in adventure, hiking, motherhood, Outdoor, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

