Magical Mandalas

Mandalas are my new thing. Now that I’m keyed into them, they seem to be everywhere.

Here’s a mandala in the yoga studio I just visited.

IMG_9117

A good friend who’d read my earlier post pointed me to a mandala workshop at Wainwright House. It’s a gorgeous estate on Long Island Sound in Rye, New York. I discovered the same sculpture there as I’d once seen at Omega Institute upstate.

I will have to investigate the artist behind this recurring sculpture.

While I do not consider myself a painter, this workshop appealed to me because I’d recently enjoyed creating a mandala from found objects, and I welcome the opportunity to study the form in greater depth.

I bought a couple canvases, basic tools, and acrylic paints to try again at home. Here are my results.

Painting mandalas is an enjoyable practice. I will also continue to make mandalas with found objects. In case you missed my earlier post, here is the mandala I made to send healing vibes to my mom from afar when she got injured in Chicago.

Once you’re interested and attuned to mandalas, they appear everywhere. Look for them and you’ll find them in nature, as in a spider’s web, on skin, on canvas, on walls….

Here is a concise summary of the origin and meaning of mandalas. Notice here it says, “Labyrinths are a type of mandala found in many cultures and are used as a tool for centering.” More on labyrinths here.

Thank you for reading. I hope you’ll explore the calming and uplifting experiences of walking labyrinths and creating mandalas. Both are sure to be lifelong practices for me.

About MommyTheorist

Editor, writer, photographer, and new mom
This entry was posted in art, education, magic, New York, visual art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

